Eek!
Yet Another Journal of Nothing in Particular…

Reinstall

After reinstalling my Windows XP a couple of times, I’ve decided to make a list of programs I usually install first. Although I have these applications backed-up in a CD, sometimes it’s just not the latest version, so I’ve re-created the list, and bookmarked their official download site into del.icio.us, in hope that I’ll always have an up-to-date version of them.

Needless to say, update your Windows XP using either Automatic Updates or going to Windows Update site, and install these afterwards. And of course, these are all freeware and/or Open Source..

So here it is, in no particular order:

  1. Avast! Home Edition
    A pretty good, free for personal and non-commercial use AntiVirus with Resident protection, P2P and IM shields, Network shield, internationalization.
  2. Ad-Aware SE Personal
    Provides advanced protection from known data-mining, aggressive advertising, Trojans, dialers, malware, browser hijackers, and tracking components.
  3. xplorer2
    Windows File Explorer replacement, dual pane views…
  4. Mozilla Firefox
    Need I say more?
  5. Mozilla Thunderbird
    Actually this is the first standalone mail-app I tried…
  6. RKLauncher
    An application that will allow the user to have a visually pleasing Mac OS X style bar at the side of the screen that is used to quickly launch shortcuts.
  7. Notepad++
    Notepad replacement, supports several programming languages, syntax highlighting and folding, multi-view, etc.
  8. XnView
    View and convert graphic files, Image IPTC, EXIF Metadata support, batch convert and rename, etc.
  9. iTunes
    I use this in conjunction with Winamp
  10. Launchy
    A Windows utility designed to help you forget about your start menu, the icons on your desktop, and even your file manager.
  11. Neowin UXTheme Multi-Patcher (Optional)
    This patches the UXTheme.dll for Windows XP/SP1/SP2 Beta/RTM and 2003 and allows you to use un-signed custom visual styles for extra eye candy. I use this to replace the original Windows GUI, purely a matter of personal preferences, of course..

These are basically the applications I installed before I start working on my newly installed Windows XP, you can find more of these freeware using an excellent list here (freeware utility) and here (Open Source Freeware). Many thanks for creating this list!

PS: I’m sure I’ve missed something.. I’ll probably update this post later on, brain’s not working as it usually do…

Or you can go visit my del.icio.us account tagged with Reinstall, where I should most likely update the list there.


Site Search Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Reinstall”

  1. 1. I use AVG.
    2. Use Windows Defender because the free version of Ad-Aware won’t stay resident. But I had an issue with Defender not updating its definitions and signatures if I wasn’t logged on (doesn’t have “update at xx a.m. or next time I log in” option).
    4. My only beef with Firefox is the inability to rearrange the tool bars like in IE.
    5. You don’t really download email do you? ;)
    7. I like Crimson Editor; similar and has ftp client built in.

    12. Don’t forget Paint.NET for photo editing!

  2. Hey there!
    Thanks a bunch for the tips, haven’t tried too many free Antivirus’ out there, havta give AVG a try too :)

    Haha, ya, I usually check my emails on the web, thanks a bunch for the tips and the headsup!

    Cheers~


Leave a Reply

